My Household Engineer

What is a father? According to Merriam-Webster, a father is “a man who has begotten a child”. But, aren’t they so much more? You know the saying, “Anyone can be a father, but it takes someone special to be a dad”.

That’s who I am writing this about. A dad. But not just any dad, although there are many wonderful dads who I can talk about today. However, I am reserving this post for my husband; the dad to my rambunctious children and my household engineer (aka stay at home dad).

He deserves so much more than just this post celebrating him or one day of recognition. Since now he has taken on the role of a maid, a waiter, a chef, a nurse, a photographer, a referee, a nightmare chaser, an activities director, a teacher, a scientist, and a gardener. I’m sure I’ve missed some too!

I don’t tell him nearly enough times how much I appreciate him and the things that he has done for us. I don’t know how many fathers are willing to stay home and take on this new career of a household engineer. I know I couldn’t do it. I love my children so very much, but I know that I am a better parent when I go to work a few days a week. He chose this for our family. He could go to work and work for just day care, but he decided he would rather stay home and work from morning until night instead of an 8-9 hour day at his previous desk job. I know that he would still be this wonderful regardless of if he went to work or stayed at home with the kids. We are so very lucky to have him stay at home, since I know there aren’t many people that have this luxury. But I also know that it is hard to stay home and care for these 2 children of ours and have minimal adult interaction.

img-32        IMG_0007

Why don’t I tell you about the best dad I know, Dave. He was always a laid back person in general. Not much ruffled his feathers. Once he decided to stay home with the kids, his feathers got slightly ruffled to say the least, but he still handles it better than I ever could. I knew that he would have a hard time adjusting to doing laundry, keeping the house clean, making dinner and keeping the kids entertained, but he didn’t do too bad. I knew he wasn’t perfect, but neither am I.

IMG_3376   IMG_0004

He may “forget” to keep up with the laundry, or sweep under the furniture, or pick put the socks that are under foot. But he was busy playing legos or super heroes. Or he was making dinner, like he does every night. And not just the frozen pizza kind of dinner, but a recipe that includes chopping up veggies and mixing spices, etc. He gets up in the middle of the night with the kids and he gets them to school in the morning about 95% of the time. He lets me sleep in all the time and makes my lunch every night that I work. He makes sure that I get out of the house with friends for a night out even when it’s been months since he’s gotten out of the house. He plays beauty shop and lets the kids paint his nails and put bows/barrettes in his hair. He plays with the kids and teaches them how to build things. He does it all…. for them.

     IMG_0006  IMG_0005

He is giving these kids memories. Memories that will last a lifetime. Yes, he may not be the most clean person (he’s better!), but he’s a wonderful dad. He would go to the moon and back for those kids. I cannot imagine going through any of this without him. I love you, babe! Happy Father’s Day!

20140615-104007-38407896.jpg

20140615-104007-38407540.jpg

Happy Father’s Day to all of the wonderful dad’s out there and most importantly to my father-in-law, Donnie and my brother-in-laws, Jeremy and Dylan.

Leave a Reply

