Three.

I’d like to say  that this year went by fast, but it hasn’t. Not particularly. There were moments that zoomed by and there were moments that passed by dreadfully slow.

But you, my sweet little boy, have grown too quickly. You have changed before my very eyes.

You’ve gone from saying a word or two to singing me Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star. I love when you sing to me. I love when you hold me close and ask for multiple kisses. I love when you kiss every inch of my face before you lay your sweet little head down to sleep.

I love when you slip your little hand into mine and look up into my eyes. I love your facial expressions when you talk, especially when you construe your lips like Elvis when you are confused about something or asking a question. Your soft face and beautiful eyes show me all that you want to say. I love your precious laugh; it is so infectious. I love it when you dance. Or when you tell a joke and lift your leg up high just so you can slap your knee and laugh harder.

I love when you wake me up with your sleepy grin and raspy voice to ask if you can cuddle with me. Of course, my sweetheart. How I love your cuddles. I love that you are fearless, to a point. I don’t want you to be afraid to live a full life.

I love how much you love Madelyn. My heart swells listening to you both play. Dress-up, babies, play-doh, super heroes, cars, polly pockets: you will play it all. I love how proud you are of yourself when you go potty. To be honest, I never planned on you being potty trained this past year. You have amazed me.

You test my patience often. Trying to find out what boundaries you have. You can be the devil in disguise, I swear. You are so different from your sister and we were not prepared for such boyness. We didn’t know what to do. Your emotions have been a roller coaster as you tried to find your way through this past year.

Mom and dad have not had as much energy to be as patient with you. It’s been a hard year and I know you are too young to understand, but you have been patient with us as best you can. We will make it up to you this year. There will be more than just 1 zoo trip and there will be way more swimming pools. Warm evening walks will come back and we will all smile more as time goes on because you have helped us through it all.

Thank you for pushing me to be my best. For testing my patience and opening up my heart even more that I ever thought imaginable. Happy Birthday, Asher. I can’t wait to see what shenanigans you pull this year!

IMG_3370

One thought on “Three.

  1. Such an incredibly sweet post, Marzy! Asher is such a sweet boy & I am absolutely loving his little voice with all of his funny words. 🙂

    I would love to go to the Milwaukee zoo with you guys this summer, btw!

Leave a Reply

