Holidays and Resolutions

2013. How did we get here so fast? I swear it was October and then I blinked and I have to remember to write 2013 instead of 2012.  It was a whirlwind getting ready for the holidays: decorating, buying gifts and hiding them, cleaning (let me rephrase: the endless task of cleaning), etc. Our dining room turned into the UPS office with as many boxes that we received on an almost daily basis. Madelyn also had a ballet recital at a Nursing home. She did great. There’s not too many things that are cuter than a bunch of 4-5 year-olds trying to remember dance moves to “Merry Christmas St Nick”

Here we are before her recital

Then it was Christmas Eve and I provided a list of things for Dave to remember to do as I hustled off to work: re-wrap presents from Santa (Madelyn saw the wrapping paper that Santa used the night before when it was left out in the open because Santa forgot to put it away), make Santa feet trailing out of the chimney, and eat up all of the cookies.

Santa even left a little letter back about Madelyn’s and Asher’s reindeer balloon (if you can read it- Santa’s penmanship is far from stellar!)

Madelyn woke up about 20 min before I got home, but Dave was able to deter her until I got home. The look on their faces was priceless. These are the moments that I love. It’s not the amount of gifts they get, although I swear every year we plan on getting them less. But the look of awe on their faces is that Santa really did stop for a visit.

Trying on some new makeup she got from Uncle Kyle. I think some pointers will be in order:)

Thank goodness for Dave, who put all of their toys together and put out the fires that started because neither was willing to share their new toy too soon, while I slept and went back to work. But at the end of the day, I’m glad that our little superheros get along.

Now onto the resolutions:

I don’t have many because I want to actually accomplish them! But looking back at 2012, I feel like I did many things that I am proud of. I hope that 2013 will be as good as last year

1. Get back on the workout and healthy eating horse (isn’t this on most people’s list)

2. Run another half-marathon

3. Have more “me” time

4. Spend more time with friends

I hope everyone has had a great holiday season and I, for one, am ready to get this tree out the door and organize all the kids toys so that I am not tripping all over them.

3 thoughts on “Holidays and Resolutions

  1. You have such a cute family!

    Madelyn wears makeup like her mommy. Good luck on those new years resolutions. I don’t know when you think you are going to find time for half that s*** given how much you seem to work and how you insist that 4 hours of sleep per night is not enough. Oh well, you’ll find a way kid.

Leave a Reply

