To run or not to run

It’s been almost 6 weeks since my half marathon and I haven’t put on my running shoes since. Yes, for about 3-4 weeks I had a great excuse: I hurt my knee. I needed to heal up.

But here I am: pain free and a smidge lazy. Now, it’s not like I haven’t been doing other things, such as working, playing with the kids, decorating for Christmas. Throw in a Thanksgiving dinner, birthday parties and some Christmas shopping, and I’ve been anything but lazy. But on the workout front, I’ve been very lazy. Dave has tried to encourage me, but I tell him that I’m perfectly comfortable laying in the couch reading or watching TV for the few minutes that I have a break from the kids. I just don’t have the motivation. I swore to myself that this was going to be my “back on the workout wagon” week. But alas, it was “too cold” to run outside. You’d think that having my jeans feel more snug would motivate me outside…but no.

How do I get myself in gear? The next couple of weeks will be a whirlwind with my long stretch at work and Christmas celebrations. So, I guess I will be the cliche and have a workout resolution. Perhaps I need another run to train for. I did stick to my training regardless of how much my work schedule interfered.

I need a plan….

One thought on “To run or not to run

Leave a Reply

