13.1

A half marathon.

13.1 miles is a long long distance! Considering that the farthest distance I ran was 8 miles in my training because I hurt my knee 2 weeks ago, and I haven’t run since. So, I’m pretty proud of myself for running that distance.

It wasn’t easy. It was far from easy. Especially, around mile 9. Well, 8.5 actually. That’s when I realized that my legs have turned into jelly and my knee was hurt. This last leg was going to be purely mental. And my head hurt and I was cold. This mental stuff was not going to go well for me! Thankfully, I had a tremendous friend at my side, Sara Van Pee. I still would’ve finished, I think, but she kept me going. I tried my hardest to keep up with her and I knew she was slowing down for me. But we finished, that’s all that I wanted to do during this one. And get a medal:)

I don’t care where I placed or what my time was (It was 2:33:some odd seconds). I crossed that finish line hurting and emotional. I gave it all I had. I can now cross this off my bucket list!

Now for next year, I know how to train differently, like some more squats and lunges so my legs don’t give out on me! And I’ll have to work on that knee of mine. Maybe a trip to the physical therapist will be in order.

Thanks to Scott for working for me so that I can beat myself up physically and mentally:)

Leave a Reply

