Training

Run, run, run….

For the past 3 weeks, I’ve been training for the Tyranena Beer Run, which is a half marathon in November. I’ve decided to train using Hal Higdon’s training plan.

Hopefully, I can continue to keep up the pace and run farther each week. This week, my longest run will be 5 miles. At least it will be getting cooler out. Running in the  hot, humid air is not my idea of a good time. But, then again, running 13.1 miles probably won’t feel like a good time either. So why am I doing it?

It’s a good workout.

It gets me out of the house.

It’ll feel like a huge accomplishment for me. If I had a bucket list, this would be on it.

My friend, Sara, is running this with me and even though I am sure I won’t be able to keep pace with her, I’m excited to do this with her. It’s so hard to keep up on friendships once children enter the picture. For me, it’s mainly because we live by none of our friends. This is hard. I wish more than anything to live closer to some friends so that staying in touch would be easier. Even though Sara lives in Mount Horeb and I live in Jefferson, this is something that we can still do together. I’m excited.

Now, I just have to register to it official…….

Leave a Reply

